On Air Now

DuBois Weather

Pennsylvania State Police welcomes 99 new troopers


​Harrisburg, PA – Commissioner Robert Evanchick announced today that 99 cadets graduated from the State Police Academy in Hershey and have been assigned to troops across the commonwealth. The men and women represent the 158th graduating cadet class.

In accordance with statewide measures to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, the graduation ceremony was closed to the public. The public was afforded the opportunity to view the event via a live stream on the Academy Facebook page.

“The men and women graduating today join the ranks at an unprecedented time in our department’s history,” said Colonel Robert Evanchick, commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police. “Friends and family were unfortunately unable to attend and celebrate in person, but we are grateful for their support as our newest troopers begin their public service careers in a period of extraordinary need.”



Six cadets received special awards and recognition:

The American Legion Award, presented to the most outstanding cadet in recognition of all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications: Gary Carneiro, Jefferson County, New York
The Colonel Ronald L. Sharpe Award, presented to the cadet who most exemplifies the qualities of leadership: Philip S. Pronick, Dauphin County
The Colonel John K. Schafer Award, presented to the cadet who achieved the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests: Tristin C. Deneen, Fulton County
The Commissioner Daniel F. Dunn Award, presented to the cadet who earned the highest level of academic achievement in the class: Jacob E. Brown-Schields, Lycoming County
The Colonel Paul J. Chylak Award, presented to the cadet who demonstrated the highest proficiency in driver safety training: Adam D. Roberts, Bradford County
The Sergeant Charles B. Gesford Award, presented to the cadet who scored the highest on the department’s pistol qualification course: Tyler A. Birdsall, Northumberland County

The graduates have been assigned to the following troops:

Troop B, Belle Vernon
Zachary M. Casini of Westmoreland County

Troop B, Uniontown
Roman Caito of Allegheny County
Dominic A. Galderisi of Fayette County
Patrick M. Martin of Allegheny County
Michael A. Parlak Jr. of Fayette County
Eric R. Sellman of Westmoreland County
James R. Tyler Jr. of Westmoreland County

Troop B, Washington
Jacob E. Brown-Schields of Lycoming County

Troop C, Clarion
Stephanie J. Graham of Clearfield County

Troop C, Lewis Run
Christopher C. Barr of McKean County
Hunter J. Freer of McKean County

Troop D, Butler
Michael J. Banachoski of Allegheny County
Christopher V. Callaghan of Beaver County
Clayton S. Lehmeier of Washington County
Mohamed A. Miloua of Allegheny County
Noah J. Sims of Beaver County

Troop D, Kittaning
Heinz W. Koster of Armstrong County
William B. Ray of Cambria County
Victor J. Santoyo Jr. of Butler County
Garrett G. Weitzel of Butler County

Troop E, Erie
Sly G. Revitsky of Westmoreland County
Joseph R. Sonafelt Jr. of Westmoreland County

Troop E, Girard
Adam M. Andreas of Lancaster County
Karyn L. Holden of Venango County

Troop E, Meadville
Timothy L. Glover Jr. of Allegheny County
Joshua E. Suppa of Westmoreland County

Troop E, Warren
John A. Reken of Indiana County

Troop F, Coudersport
Whitney E. Boshart of Clinton County
Howard W. Young II of Potter County

Troop F, Mansfield
Reuben M. Donovan of Potter County

Troop F, Milton
Kyle L. Drick of Lycoming County
Colton E. Killion of Lycoming County
Kyle L. Thorpe of Tioga County

Troop F, Montoursville
Patrick J. Kineston of Montour County
Logan T. Webb of Centre County

Troop F, Stonington
Tyler A. Birdsall of Northumberland County

Troop G, Bedford
Ryan T. Easter of Bedford County

Troop G, Rockview
Robert E. Turnbaugh III of Huntingdon County
Bryan Wenzel of Huntingdon County
Christopher E. Wills of Blair County

Troop H, Carlisle
Devyn Q. Barry of Dauphin County
Justin D. Himmler of Cumberland County
Paige D. Kulsa of Luzerne County
Derek E. Leib of Cumberland County
Anthony M. Roefaro Jr. of Blair County
Tyler M. Watkins of Huntingdon County
Adam J. Zeiders of Dauphin County

Troop H, Chambersburg
Marie Calore of Luzerne County
Tristin C. Deneen of Fulton County
Bridgette L. Flanigan of Armstrong County
Justin E. Kressler of Luzerne County
Christian S. Rhine of Lebanon County

Troop H, Gettysburg
Jeffrey R. Allen Jr. of Cumberland County
Gary Carneiro of Jefferson County, New York

Troop H, Harrisburg
Ryan E. Dehaven of Monroe County
Tyler R. Krause of Philadelphia County
Cole R. Mcconnell of Wayne County
Philip S. Pronick of Dauphin County
Jonathan E. Rich of Allegheny County
Samantha M. Zeiders of Dauphin County

Troop H, Lykens
Adam D. Roberts of Bradford County

Troop H, Newport
Deondre L. Brown of Westmoreland County
Alex R. Ebbert of Lackawanna County
Eric Haubert of Juniata County
Anthony M. Stone of Columbia County
Johnathan V. Sullivan of Luzerne County

Troop J, Avondale
Jeremy C. Hollenbach of Chester County
Ashley N. Jones of Chester County
Brian J. McCabe of Chester County

Troop J, Embreeville
Corey A. Baiada of Montgomery County
Craig A. Fry of Indiana County

Troop J, York
John J. Grzymala of York County
Zachary F. Larkin of Lehigh County

Troop K, Media
Andrew M. Korrubin of Montgomery County
Anthony J. Lannutti of Philadelphia County
Daniel S. Sgambato of Philadelphia County

Troop K, Philadelphia
Shane P. Dunlevy of Atlantic County, New Jersey
Justin M. Howell of Montgomery County
Young Y. Jung of Montgomery County
Tyler M. Valentin of Camden County, New Jersey

Troop L, Jonestown
Justin T. Marderness of Lancaster County
Joshua M. Yates of Schuylkill County

Troop L, Reading
Alex M. Farnsler of Lancaster County
Joshua B. Gresh of Berks County
Adam G. Tranquillo of Berks County

Troop L, Schuylkill Haven
Justin J. Duncan of Schuylkill County
Christian L. Reistroffer of Berks County
John Szczyglak III of Schuylkill County

Troop M, Belfast
Thomas R. Kirk Jr. of Bucks County
Vishu J. Solanki of Burlington County, New Jersey

Troop M, Bethlehem
Philip Buccigrossi III of Richmond County, New York

Troop M, Fogelsville
Lauren A. Bernard of Bucks County
Jason P. Fallara of Jefferson County
Kevin Gardner of Lackawanna County
Alexander W. Zmyewski of Carbon County

Troop N, Hazleton
James R. Scott of Luzerne County
Timothy J. Vicario of Northampton County

Troop N, Lehighton
John A. Heffner of Lehigh County

Troop N, Stroudsburg
Carl R. Nerthling of Erie County

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit www.psp.pa.gov. To learn more about becoming a Pennsylvania State Trooper, visit www.patrooper.com.