On Air Now

DuBois Weather

DuBois City Council swears in members, sets meeting dates


DuBois, PA – The DuBois City Council swore in city council members, the controller, and the mayor.

Mayor Eddie Walsh will serve a two-year term as mayor, filling in the unexpired part of Randy Schmidt term after he resigned in late 2020.

Shane Dietz will serve a four-year term on council. He had stepped in to fill two years previously of Schmidt’s former council position.

Shannon Gabriel will serve a two-year term filling in the unexpired part of Walsh’s term on council after he was appointed mayor.

David Volpe was sworn in for two years as controller, filling Gabriel’s previous spot as controller for the unexpired portion of her term.

James Aughenbaugh will serve four years on city council after being re-elected to his position.

Council member Diane Bernardo was elected as council vice president. As mayor, Walsh will serve as the council president.

They also agreed to some slight changes to the meeting schedule. As the City of DuBois and Sandy Township work on plans to consolidate, the city council and township supervisors will meet as-needed each first and third Monday of each month at 6 p.m.

The regular city council meeting as well as the supervisors meeting will be held immediately after those consolidation meetings.

The DuBois City Council’s work session will be at 4 p.m. on the Thursdays before each regular meeting date.