On Air Now

Pittsburgh Pirates
Pittsburgh Pirates
7:00pm - 10:00pm

DuBois Weather

99 new cadets graduate from PA State Police Academy


Harrisburg, PA – Colonel Robert Evanchick, commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, is proud to announce that 99 cadets graduated from the State Police Academy in Hershey and have been assigned to troops across the commonwealth. The men and women represent the 159th graduating cadet class.

In accordance with statewide measures to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, the graduation ceremony was closed to the public. Friends and family were afforded the opportunity to view the event via live streams on the Academy Facebook pageOpens In A New Window, YouTube LiveOpens In A New Window, and PAcastOpens In A New Window.

“The support of loved ones, even from afar, is crucial during the rigorous physical and mental training State Police cadets receive at the Academy, and it will remain vital throughout their careers as troopers,” said Colonel Evanchick. “Although proud parents, siblings, spouses, and others could not attend in person, we are grateful for everything they have done to help these men and women reach the important milestone we are marking today.”

Four cadets received special awards and recognition:

The American Legion Award, presented to the most outstanding cadet in recognition of all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications: Nicholas A. Sully
The Colonel Ronald L. Sharpe Award, presented to the cadet who most exemplifies the qualities of leadership: Nicholas A. Sully
The Colonel John K. Schafer Award, presented to the cadet who achieved the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests: Nicholas A. Sully
The Commissioner Daniel F. Dunn Award, presented to the cadet who earned the highest level of academic achievement in the class: Nicholas P. Gustaitis
The Colonel Paul J. Chylak Award, presented to the cadet who demonstrated the highest proficiency in driver safety training: Adam M. Romig
The Sergeant Charles B. Gesford Award, presented to the cadet who scored the highest on the department’s pistol qualification course: Joseph W. Yarzab

The graduates have been assigned to the following troops:

Troop A, Greensburg
Martin J. Mihelic
Jesse A. Niehenke
Jacob N. Shearer

Troop B, Uniontown
Gina M. Bonacci
Kyle D. Holmes
Justin M. Kempka
Kelsey M. Landberg
Brian J. Loughner
Brandon K. Rose
Charles L. Smetak
Tyler J. Strini
Joseph W. Yarzab

Troop B, Waynesburg
Brian W. Albert
Saad A. Jaber
Casey J. Rebosky

Troop C, Clarion
Leopold R. Cleveland IV
Stephen Galmarini
Brian R. Tanner

Troop C, Clearfield
Austin D. Woolcock

Troop C, Lewis Run
Alyssa M. Henry
Kyle M. Lyon

Troop C, Marienville
William G. Gerg Jr.
Joseph A. Highfield

Troop C, Punxsutawney
David P. Blazavich
Christopher R. Ramsden
Zachary P. Weinel

Troop C, Ridgway
Thomas S. Renwick
Jeffrey T. Wilson

Troop E, Meadville
Adam D. Kirwin

Troop F, Coudersport
Matthew J. Baux
Nicklas D. Coulston
Jacklyn Y. Navarro
Adam N. Romig
Ronald M. Schall

Troop F, Emporium
Micheal D. Eller
Hunter M. Hall
Daniel Kopec

Troop F, Lamar
Brian A. Kitko

Troop F, Mansfield
Julio C. Sura
Darin M. Wheeler

Troop F, Montoursville
Matthew S. Chamberlain
Jacob E. Hook

Troop G, Bedford
Matthew M. Hample

Troop G, Huntingdon
Duane A. Mock Jr.
Zackary J. Weaver

Troop G, Lewistown
Julio C. Trejo Jr.
Jason P. Walizer

Troop G, McConnelsburg
Jacob D. Bowser
Derrick T. Cramer

Troop G, Rockview
Avery M. Lavella

Troop H, Carlisle
Noah D. Chapman
Matthew E. Gordon

Troop H, Gettysburg
Michael J. Gragg

Troop H, Harrisburg
Troy R. Chapman
Zackeraya E. Elmarzouky
Joshua A. Hoerner
Chad E. Lammer
Warren C. Reed

Kody A. Reichart
Alexander Whittington

Troop H, Lykens
Trevor W. Skripko
Brent Wolfe

Troop J, Avondale
Joseph S. DiWilliams
Christian R. Mcelhenney
Bradley C. Sherker

Troop J, Embreeville
Christian R. Sneed

Troop J, Lancaster
Aaron Llanso

Troop J, York
Casey W. Clement
Jeremy C. De La Cruz
Joshua M. Ravel
Kyle R. Schuetrum
Bryce A. Smith

Troop K, Media
Nicholas P. Gustaitis

Troop K, Philadelphia
Sean T. Fay

Troop L, Jonestown
Thomas S. Leganza
Nickolas S. Price

Troop M, Belfast
Jonathan E. Eberle
Kevin A. Kowalishen

Troop M, Bethlehem
Jeffrey T. Buchinski
Isaias Espinoza

Troop M, Fogelville
Cole T. Campbell
Harrison R. Kaye

Troop N, Fern Ridge
Milagros Holguin Ramos

Troop N, Hazleton
Patrick McDonald
Terry J. Tirko II
Kevin D. Wesolowski

Troop N, Stroudsburg
Paige M. Drawbaugh
Shawn T. Jones
Robert J. Nardelli
Robert L. Russell
Nicholas Sully
Blair C. Williams

Troop P, Towanda
Tyler A. Cawley
Niccolo P. Cruciani
Cody F. Delfino
Kyle T. Evans
Stephen J. Mascaro
Robert M. Scatena Jr.
Nick M. Walters

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit www.psp.pa.gov. To learn more about becoming a Pennsylvania State Trooper, visit www.patrooper.com.