Songwriters Hall of Fame(NEW YORK) — Artists behind many of the classic songs we love and know by heart are among the nominees this year to the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The nominees are split between so-called Performing Songwriters and behind-the-scenes Songwriters. Included in the former are pop diva Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart of Eurythmics, and Cat Stevens, today known as Yusuf Islam.

Other Performing Songwriter nominees are Missy Elliott — the first female rapper to be nominated for induction — as well as rock outfit The Pretenders' frontwoman Chrissie Hynde, country star Vince Gill, reggae star Jimmy Cliff, Tommy James of "I Think We're Alone Now" fame, Mike Love of the Beach Boys, Electric Light Orchestra's Jeff Lynne, Americana singer/songwriter John Prine, and R&B star Lloyd Price.

On the Songwriter side, nominees include the talented folks behind hits like The Monkees' "Last Train to Clarksville," Tony Orlando and Dawn's "Tie a Yellow Ribbon," Gary Puckett's "Young Girl," The Carpenters' "Rainy Days and Mondays," Deniece Williams' "Let's Hear It for the Boy," Kenny Loggins' "Footloose," The Eagles' "Already Gone" and "Peaceful Easy Feeling," and Glenn Frey's "You Belong to the City."

Voting for Songwriters Hall of Fame induction will continue through December 17. Finalists will be inducted during a gala ceremony June 13 of next year.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.